>A Series of Fortunate Events

>

“If you are interested in stories with happy endings, you would be better off reading some other book. In this book, not only is there no happy ending, there is no happy beginning and very few happy things in the middle” – Lemony Snicket

Those who aren’t familiar with Lemony Snicket’s ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’ are missing a hell of a lot of very entertaining reading! I first came across this amusing story while watching Jim Carey (excellent as Count Olaf!) and instantly fell in love with the storyline.
Now, ignorant me didn’t know that the movie was actually adapted from the books, so when I saw the last of Snicket’s 13 books of unfortunate events, I grabbed it without thinking twice. And. I. Loved. It.
I won’t tell you the story, you have to read it yourself to fully appreciate Snicket’s sarcasm and irony (or you can watch the movie instead), but what I will tell you is the story behind this necklace. It is a story of fortunate events, so you can expect a happy beginning, a few happy things in the middle, and a happy ending.
The Beginning: My friend was wondering what to get for his girl’s upcoming birthday, and I offered to create a piece of jewellery for her. She likes to wear short necklaces and her favourite colour is pink.
The Middle Bit: As soon as I got the green light from him, I went back to play around with colour scheme. I tell you there was background research involved, since I’ve never met the future wearer of this necklace before. After staring at countless pictures of her (some might say I was facebook-stalking this girl…), I was confident enough to create something that I think will be to her liking. The necklace was done in less than an hour (I was THAT excited) and summon my friend to come over for approval. Being a guy, his comments involved “niceeeee”, “maybe it’s not pink enough?” and “i’m on a budget” 😛 (now the last bit, no designer likes to hear but that’s part of life right?) 
The End: several more beads were added, necklace was shorten, et voila! I have just experienced a series of fortunate events 🙂 
Materials Used: quarts in pink, Japanese glass beads, Czech crystals, faux pearls

Follow Aglaia

Leave a Reply

